Programmatically move points

Dec 14, 2010 at 3:06 PM

Hi. I'm working with Drawing Board. I need to move a point of a PolyLine programmatically through the screen coordinates. Even if I studied the code, don't understand how.

I have these points:

Point A: 100,100

Point B: 150,150

Point C: 100,200

Pont D: 250,250

Programmatically, I need to move Point A from 100,100 to 300,300, without moving the rest of the points. How can I do that?

Thanks in advance. Best regards, Fernando.

Developer
Dec 14, 2010 at 8:00 PM

hi Fernando,

I think that's quite easy, actually.

Have a look in the DrawingBoard.List property.  it is a list of all shapes on the drawingboard.

for example: loop over them, and find out which one is the polyline your're interested in.  (a PolyLine is called a PointSet in the DrawingBoard's lingo)

In this PointSet, you will find the 'points' list, which represents the individual points (of type PointWr), which you can

move by setting or adding to the .X and .Y properties.

To take into account 'screen coordinates' (versus document coordinates), you divide by the DrawingBoard's Zoom property, for the X and Y coordinate.

Don't forget to update the Drawingboard (call Invalidate() on it, just like you would refresh any other .Net control) to make your change visible.

To completely make it clean, it is a good idea to also update any selected 'handles' that might be on the active shape selection... I had a look in OnMouseUp() to figure out how to do that (it just re-creates the handles on selected shapes, and drops the old ones implictly by the .Net garbage collector).